12981579883_0ac8e77513_z

I have heard it said that it is always the darkest before the dawn. There are seasons in life that I would call the Night Season. This is the season where everything is so pitch black you could not see your hand in front of your face even if you wanted to. All you can do in this time, is wait for the dawn to come in order to move forward without stumbling over obstacles and possibly hurting yourself in the process.

When it’s dark, you can wonder if there is anyone out there that could help. You want to yell out does anyone have a flashlight? Candle? Anything? Darkness can also distort images. You sometimes find out that what you think may be one thing, when the light is turned on you find out that it wasn’t what you thought it was at all. In fact, it was something totally different.

Darkness can be frightening sometimes. You can find yourself wondering if the light will ever come or if it will be this way forever.

You can often feel alone or even forgotten. If you are in a season like this, I would like to encourage you to not lose heart. Your dawn is coming.

I would like to share some scriptures with you that may be a great help. Just this last week, I was feeling pretty discouraged and alone. That day I was praying and the phrase came to my mind “He remembers you in the night season.” The Lord began to remind me that He had not forgotten me.

He reminded me of a story in the Bible. It is found in the book of Esther. This story is about a man named Mordecai who was Esther’s cousin. It is found in Esther chapter 2 and it goes like this.

One day while Mordecai was at the gate, Bigthan and Teresh, two of the king’s eunuchs who guarded the door, were plotting to kill King Ahasuerus. They were angry over some matter. But Mordecai learned of their plan and reported it to Queen Esther who told the king about the plot, giving credit to her cousin.  After a thorough investigation, the report was proven true. So the two officers were killed and displayed on a pole. All of this information was chronicled in the presence of the king, in the public record.

A little while later, according to King Ahasuerus’ wishes, Haman (son of Hammedatha, an Agagite) was promoted to a rank above all his fellow nobles in the kingdom. The officials at the king’s gate all bowed down before Haman and paid him homage because the king commanded this. But Mordecai, the Jew, refused to kneel and refused to honor him. 

Mordecai’s actions came to the attention of the king’s officials standing at the gate. Officials (looking at Mordecai): Why are you disobeying the king’s command? The officers questioned him daily about his disobedience to the king, but Mordecai refused to listen and bow down. The officers reported this to Haman to learn whether or not Mordecai’s excuse would be tolerated, for Mordecai had told them he was a Jew. Haman was furious when he saw that Mordecai refused to bow and pay him the respect he was due. But Haman wasn’t to be satisfied with killing only Mordecai, so he began to think of ways to destroy all of Mordecai’s people, the Jews, throughout the kingdom of Ahasuerus.  

As time went on, although Haman got permission from the king to destroy Mordecai and the Jews, he still was not satisfied. Haman said  to his wife and friends, But I must be honest; seeing that Jew, Mordecai, as I pass through the gate makes it difficult to celebrate any of my good fortuneThen his wife Zeresh and all of his friends came up with an idea. Zeresh and His Friends: You should make a wood pole 75 feet high! Tomorrow morning, have the king sentence Mordecai to be executed on it. Then you’ll be able to have a good time at the banquet with the king. Haman thought the idea was brilliant. So he had the pole made.

That same night the king was unable to sleep, so he ordered the official records of his reign to be brought and read before him. As the record was read, the king was reminded of the time when Mordecai saved his life. Mordecai had been the one who reported that Bigthana and Teresh, two of the royal eunuchs who guarded the doors, were plotting to assassinate the king. 

King Ahasuerus(to his servants): Did Mordecai receive any recognition for this action? Was he honored in any way? Servants: He received no recognition for this. King Ahasuerus: Is anyone out in the court now? Haman had just arrived at the outer court of King Ahasuerus’ palace. He hoped to speak with the king about executing Mordecai and hanging him on the pole he had prepared. Servants:  Haman is here waiting in the court to see youKing Ahasuerus: Allow him to come in. So Haman entered the king’s chambers. He waited for the king to speak first. 

King Ahasuerus: Haman, I want to ask you something. What do you believe is the proper manner in which to honor a man who has pleased me? Then Haman thought to himself, “There is no one the king wishes to honor more than me.” 

Haman: If you desire to honor a man, I believe you should do this: First, have your servants bring one of the robes you have worn and one of the horses you have ridden that has worn the royal crown on its head. Then, you should give the robe and horse to one of your most noble officials. Have him robe the man whom you want to honor and then lead the man on horseback throughout the center of the city. It should be announced that this is what happens for the man whom the king wants to honor. 

King Ahasuerus: Your idea is perfect, Haman. I want you to go and do this immediately. Take one of my robes and one of my horses and do exactly what you have suggested to Mordecai, the Jewish man who sits at my gate. Do everything you have said, and don’t leave out one single detail. Not one!  Haman was mortified. He took the robe and horse; he dressed Mordecai in the king’s robe and led him throughout the square of the city.

Haman (shouting): This is what happens for the man whom the king desires to honor! When it was done, Mordecai returned to the king’s gate. But Haman fled to his home, mourning and covering his head in humiliation

In the end, Haman’s plan to destroy Mordecai and the Jews was revealed to the king. The king became so angry and had Haman hung on the pole that Haman built for Mordecai. Mordecai and the Jews’ lives were saved that day. Talk about a turn of events.

Have you ever felt like you were trying to do your best to be pleasing to God by obeying Him but, as you have chosen to do so the circumstances in your life turn for the worse?

Mordecai never stopped obeying the Lord even though the circumstances were grim. Not only did the Lord in turn remember him, but He honored him in front of his enemies. Then his enemies were destroyed.

Psalms 23 says,  Even in the unending shadows of death’s darkness, I am not overcome by fear. Because You are with me in those dark moments, near with Your protection and guidance, I am comforted. You spread out a table before me, provisions in the midst of attack from my enemies; You care for all my needs, anointing my head with soothing, fragrant oil, filling my cup again and again with Your grace.

Isaiah 49 says,  The Lord has abandoned me. God has walked out the door; my Lord left me alone. He has forgotten all about me. The Lord says, Is it possible for a mother, however disappointed, however hurt, to forget her nursing child? Can she feel nothing for the baby she carried and birthed?  Even if she could, I, God, will never forget you. Look here. I have made you a part of Me, written you on the palms of My hands…always on My mind, always My concern…

 Know this you are always on God’s mind. He has not forgotten you. He will spread out a table before you, provisions in the midst of attack from your enemies.

Esther 8:16 says, For the Jews, it was a time of celebration. Darkness had turned to light. Sadness to joy. Shame to honor.

Keep trusting the Lord and watch as He turns your situation around for good. I leave you with this last scripture found in Psalms 30:11 it says, You did it: You turned my deepest pains into joyful dancing; You stripped off my dark clothing and covered me with joyful light.

Let God break through the darkness for you. I know He will because you matter to Him!

 

