Valley – a low point or condition. 

We all go through different seasons in life. Some seasons are better than others. In fact, there are some seasons that I’m sure everyone wishes would stay around in their lives forever. Other seasons we can often wonder, if they will ever come to an end or stay that way forever.

Today, I thought that I would talk about the seasons that can bring discouragement, hopelessness, depression and disappointment. Seasons where you are hurting and feel unloved, unimportant, unvalued, overlooked and even at times forgotten. You feel forgotten not only by those around you but even forgotten by God Himself.

I am talking about being in a season of the valley. I want you to know that no one is exempt from this season. You are not the only one. Even as I type these words, I must admit that I have been going through a valley season.

When you’re in a valley, it’s easy to think that you will never get out of that place. You can feel lonely. Even when you see others around you who aren’t in a valley season and it can appear that they are always on the mountaintop. You can begin to wonder what is wrong with you. When you’re going through it, you don’t always have people around you encouraging you by saying to you, you will make it through this. You will not be there forever. You may even feel like God is against you and doesn’t even want to help you. It then can become real easy to give up and throw in the towel.

Well, today I am here to hopefully bring you some encouragement, if you are in a valley season.  

Recently, I went exploring. it has become one of my favorite things to do. There was a place I had discovered awhile back that I fell in love with. This time I was going back because the flowers that I love were there and they were in full bloom. I was pretty excited about it. The place is called Callalily Valley.

DSC_0910

 The little valley is filled with callalilies that are watered by a stream that is flowing down through the valley into the ocean. It is one of the most beautiful places that I have seen. It is somewhat hard to find because it is so hidden, but once you do find it you don’t want to leave.

There is a couple of stairways that you can go down to get into the valley. I went down there and just wanted to be immersed in the beauty of all of it. I walked around and went to where the source of the flowers were by the stream. In the process because it was so muddy, I got thick mud all over my shoes and was covered in mud up to my ankles. I was able to wash my shoes off in the little stream and found the water quite cold but refreshing. 

lilies

Liliesandstairs

As I left that day, the Lord reminded me of a scripture found in Song of Solomon chapter two. It says this, I am the lily of the valley. It then began to hit me in the middle of the valley in my life, He is there. He brings me joy in the midst of pain. He brings me comfort in the midst of the circumstances that are uncomfortable. Then, I was reminded just as I had washed the mud off of my shoes in the stream of the scripture Psalms 23 where it says, He provides me rest in rich, green fields beside streams of refreshing water. He soothes my fears; He makes me whole again…Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil. Because You are with me in those dark moments, near with Your protection and guidance, I am comforted…You care for all my needs, anointing my head with soothing, fragrant oil, filling my cup again and again with Your graceCertainly Your faithful protection and loving provision will pursue me where I go, always, everywhere. 

The Lord began to show me that even when I am covered with “mud”from walking through the valley, He is there with me. He is the one who brings me to a place of rest where I can be refreshed and made whole by Him. He is the one who takes away the fear of evil by letting me know that He will lead and guide me through every step of the way in the valley.

The result is that I began to discover who He really is. He is the one I can trust to bring me through the good times and the bad times. He is the one who will take care of me in every situation I walk through. He then, will lead me out of the valley into a better place and I will not be able to help but praise Him all the more for His goodness to me. 

You may be going through a valley too. I want to encourage you don’t give up. The Lord is right there in the valley with you and He is not going to leave you. He is going to take care of you, refresh you, make you whole and even stronger than you are now. You can trust Him. He is for you and not against you. Let Him be the one to walk you through this valley. The valley you are in now will not be where you will stay. You will come out but let Him help you. Let Him comfort you and see you through. I promise you that you will not regret it!! 

IMG_2676.JPG

