Tags

, ,

cropped-page72_picture0_1329886234.jpg

Sometimes everyone needs a little encouragement in life. Especially, when one is going through a hard time. My hope for you is that when you read this blog, that by the end of it you feel encouraged. In the world that we live in today, it can be easy to think that  you may be the only one that seems to be having a hard time. For example, you could go on Facebook or it may even be when you get around people in general, they seem to have the perfect life. Nothing ever goes wrong for them. Everyone always likes them. They can do no wrong. They seem to be the perfect human. If you have experienced that, I want you to know that you are not alone. I too, have experienced this as well. I have been around people who don’t have a hair out of place. It wouldn’t matter if it was an extremely windy day, their hair is still perfect, even after its been wind blown. Me, I wake up in the morning and my hair is sticking out everywhere. At times, my hair seems to have a mind of its own, it does not want to do what I am trying to get it to do. Then, there are the people who seem to always say the right thing. Me, well my words can get jumbled and at times don’t even make sense to me. I have said things that I shouldn’t have said. Well, it can sometimes be a disaster. Or, how about those people who, they always are so happy, they never ever have a bad attitude or a bad day ever. And I mean Ever!! Me, well at times I have to work hard at having a good attitude and being happy. Especially, on the days I feel down and discouraged. Then, there are the people who have such great poise. They walk with such grace. Me, well I trip over my own feet. I don’t even need to have anything there in front of me to trip over. At times, I just trip for no apparent reason. Last week, I had a day where I went to go get the mail and on the way back I discovered that I stepped in doggie Doodoo. Talk about disgusting. Guess who had to clean it? Yeah, that would be me. It wasn’t long after that on the same day that I realized I had been walking around with my jacket on inside out. Then later, I discovered a piece of hair in my drinking water. Yep, I was totally winning on that day.

So do you feel any better yet? Even a little more encouraged? Now you know that there is someone else out there that goes through rough spots at times. She knows that she is by all means in no way perfect and the harder she would try the more she would find out that she still is imperfect. I have come to realize something though. It’s okay to be me. You know, I have had those moments where I have compared my life to others. I have felt that because I wasn’t like them in personality, in looks or I didn’t interact the way they would with people. I felt that I did not measure up in the area of what a person should be like in order to be acceptable. 

But, little by little, I am realizing that I don’t have to be like everyone else. I don’t have to try fit into their mold. Because the truth is, I wasn’t made to be exactly like them. God created me to be me and I can be who God created me to be. A couple of weeks ago, I was asked to lead a song in church. I love to sing but, sometimes I get nervous when having to sing in front of people. This particular day I felt like my voice wasn’t up to par. I was messing up and hitting wrong notes in practice. But, I wanted to please God and worship Him despite my feelings. I had hoped that when the time came to lead the people in the congregation in singing the song, that my voice would be okay by then. Well, the song started out fine but, in the middle of the song my voice cracked. I found myself hitting wrong notes. I could feel myself getting so embarrassed that I could feel my ears getting hot. They were obviously turning red because of it. I kept thinking, God I am singing this for you and kept trying to keep my focus on Him. I was able to get through the song but when I finished, I felt like I had failed in the area of pleasing God. I felt that people weren’t being ministered to by God’s Presence and love because I messed up. I apologized to God and He said to me if your voice cracks and you hit wrong notes do you think that I never want you to sing another song to me again? God then reminded me of what He once said to me. When a little child gets up and sings, do you think about whether they hit all the right notes or that they sang all the right words? My answer was no and even if they did, it didn’t matter because, my heart melts into a little puddle and is touched deeply. God said that is how I feel when my children sing to me. It is how I feel when you sing to me from your heart. I don’t sit there and say well because your voice cracked I hate it. Don’t ever sing to me again. The fact that you are singing to me because you love me and want to bless me, means more to me than whether you hit all the right notes or not. It is not based on your performance. To know that God accepts me regardless of whether I do things perfect or not, is such an amazing revelation. But, what I want to say is that He feels the same way about you. You don’t have to perform for Him. He wants you to relax and be who He created you to be. Trust in Him to help you where you feel you don’t measure up.

You know it has been a process for me and still is a process in learning what God is like and how He sees me. But, I know that as I trust Him, He will help me in every area that I need help. I have begun to realize that when I feel insecure the more I keep my eyes on Jesus and trust in Him, I will begin to receive His confidence.

2 Corinthians 3:4-5 says this, This is the confidence that we have through Christ in the presence of God. It isn’t that we ourselves are qualified to claim that anything came from us. No, our qualification is from God.

In Proverbs 14 it says this, Those who respect the Lord will have security…

The word respect means a particular way of thinking about or looking at something; an act of giving particular attention. As you put your attention on Jesus, you will find security, confidence, strength, hope and whatever it is that you need. There are so many scriptures in the Bible that show us what we have in Christ. All we have to do is put our attention on Him and receive what He has for us. This can be done by speaking out His word and believing that we have what He says that we can have.

Hebrews 10 says this, So do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord. Remember the great reward it brings you!

I want to encourage you that when you are experiencing feelings of inadequacy, fear, insecurity, doubt, hopelessness, depression, discouragement or any thought that brings you down to turn your focus on Jesus. Allow Him to give you what you need. This is where you will find hope, security, confidence, joy and peace. If you don’t know where to start, start by reading the Bible. Specifically, the New Testament. Read about Jesus. Discover what He is like. I cannot even begin to tell you how much better you will begin to feel when you look to Jesus. But, I do know this you will never be the same again and you will be glad that you did!

 

 

