Tags

, , ,

437ecfafbb0251ef6cec979f7e941858

How sweet is the love of a father for his little one? When I see a dad and his baby, my heart just seems to melt. You can see how much love and care he has for his little one in his actions. You can see that joy is evident on the father’s face as he will at times throw the baby in the air. There you see one of the best moments in life as the baby laughs in delight! Yes, there is definitely a special bond between a dad and his little one and yet it seems that it is not often talked about. So, I would like to take a moment and share a story with you that will give you a glimpse of just how wonderful dads are. 

This story was written by a nurse. The story goes like this: After a baby is born, a baby is usually scared, screaming and flailing around. I would carry the baby into the newborn nursery, start checking his vital signs, etc., and the monitor would show a high heart rate, elevated blood pressure, rapid respirations, all of which reflect how stressed he is.

 Then I’d see the baby’s father hanging around, often not sure what to do, also looking a little stressed and unsure of his surroundings. So I would say to the father, “Come over here, stand right here next to your baby, and just start talking to your son.” I would encourage the father to lean down close to his baby, and speak some quiet words of comfort. I would say, “It’s, okay. . . he knows your voice.. . . go ahead and talk to your baby.”

The father would start to talk to his child, sometimes using his child’s chosen name, and say things like, “I love you. It’s okay. I’m here. You’re going to be okay. You’re safe. You’re my son. I love you. Everything’s going to be alright. I’m here now, I’m here.” 

Remarkably, once the baby heard his father’s gentle voice, he would calm down, his body would relax and find rest, he’d become very quiet. The baby’s heart would stop racing, his respirations would calm down. This little newborn child would often strain to turn his head towards ‘that voice’, blinking through the bright lights, instinctively trying to ‘see’ the voice that he knew so well. 

In this very scary new world, outside of his mother’s warm and safe womb, this little child had found peace, he knew he was safe, he knew he was not alone, he knew everything was going to be alright, he knew he was where he was supposed to be. . . within the sound of his father’s voice.

 

What an amazing story! All it took was the sound of the father’s voice to calm the baby down and reassure him that everything was okay. In my own life, I have had times where circumstances were difficult but a word from my dad would make me feel at ease. I would begin to relax and think oh it’s gonna be okay. I love my dad a lot and I am so thankful for him. Dads just have a way of bringing a feeling of security into a son or daughter’s life.

The examples that I just gave you are a foreshadow of what God is like. You know recently I was having a really hard time. It was one of those days when the things that had been bothering me seemed to be magnified. The result was that I ended up in tears that night in my room because I was feeling really overwhelmed with what was concerning me. I began to pour out my heart to God until I had told Him everything that was concerning me. I began to let Him know that I realized I could do nothing about the circumstances I was facing. The only way the circumstances would be resolved was if He would take care of them. Then I released every situation to Him. The next day I felt so much better. God began to show me some things. He showed me what worry really is. Worry is usually something important to you like a person, a job, a dream or desire in your heart. Then He showed me what the meaning of a care is. A care is the concern that we have about that person, job etc. Then He brought the scripture 1 Peter 5:7 to my mind it says this, Give all your worries and cares to God, for He cares about you.

He was saying to me that He cared about what was going on with me and wanted me to give it to Him. He was saying you’re right you cannot take care of those things on your own but I can take care of them. Then He reassured me that everything would be okay. Such peace settled in my heart once I knew that He would take care of it. I don’t have to try and solve these things on my own. He is faithful and will do what He says that He will do, as I place my trust in Him. 

You may be facing some situations where you don’t know what to do. You may even be wondering and saying to yourself how can I fix it and have come to the realization that you can’t fix it. Give the situations, to God tell Him about it, admit to Him that you cannot fix it. When you say to God you can’t fix it, it gives Him the opportunity to tell you that He can fix it. Give that worry and care to God. He is the best Care Taker and He knows exactly what is needed to fix it. When you invite Him to take care of your concerns, He will. Psalms 55:22 says, Our Lord, we belong to you. We tell you what worries us, and you won’t let us fall.  

Have you ever seen a father tell a child to jump and that he will catch him. What does the child do? He fearlessly jump into his father’s arms. What makes him so fearless? He knows that when his daddy says that he will catch him. He can trust that he will catch him and not drop him. 

God is asking us to trust Him. We can rest assured that as we do He will be right there and will not let us fall. He will take care of us. As you give your cares and worries to Him, He will reassure you that everything will be okay and peace will enter your heart. Let Him Be Your Care Taker!

c003a4067c23057444ba047d183c4d66

