Tags

, ,

In a blog entry I published a couple of weeks ago, I established that we are God’s treasure. (If you haven’t read it yet I would like to encourage you to check it out.) But, in this blog entry I would like to talk about a different aspect of the word treasure.

So, I would like to share with you a couple of stories from my own life. I was at a prayer meeting at our church and my dad who is a pastor had just purchased these bracelets for people to be able to wear. On the bracelet there are two words “God’s Treasure.” My dad wanted people to be reminded that they are God’s Treasure and what a great reminder to have right there on your arm, a bracelet saying God’s Treasure.

Well, during the meeting my dad said, I would like to get more of these bracelets so that we can pass them out to people in our community. Then they can know that they are God’s Treasure. The people from our church would pray and ask God who they should give the bracelet to and then give it to them.

Well, the next day I went to one of our local stores as I had to buy some things. I grabbed what I needed and got in line. There was a long line and only one cashier at the register. I looked over and there was another lady that worked there that came up behind the counter. She said to me I can help you over here. As I started walking toward her, my eyes glanced at my wrist. I was wearing the bracelet that said God’s treasure on it. I hadn’t been thinking anything about it and there it was before me. I went up to the cash register and thus a thought war began in my head.

I thought, oh am I supposed to give this bracelet to this lady? 

Then I thought no, this is my bracelet I should keep it because I need to be reminded that I am God’s Treasure. 

Then the lady said to me, would you like to buy a bag to carry your stuff in? I said yes. As I was thinking yeah because I am going to give her this bracelet. Yes a lot was going through my mind in that moment. Do I give her the bracelet or not? That was the question. I noticed there was someone standing behind me and was going to leave when I thought what if this is God prompting me to give her this bracelet. Then, I just couldn’t leave, I needed to obey Him. 

The next thing that I knew was I was taking the bracelet off of my wrist and I started to hand it to the lady. I said I feel like I am supposed to give this to you so that every time you wear this bracelet and you look at it you will know that you are God’s treasure. The lady smiled at me and immediately put it on her wrist. I told her to have a good day and left the store. It was such a glorious feeling to know that I had just shared God’s love with someone. 

The next story that I would like to share with you is when I received a message on Facebook from a friend asking if I would do a favor for them. The favor was to write a letter of encouragement to a young lady who was going into rehab for 30 days to get free from an alcohol addiction. This was the second time that this young lady would be going into rehab. The first time she was there, her aunt would send her a card of encouragement for every day that she was in rehab. This helped her get through the time that she was in there. Since then, her aunt had passed away so she was sad that she would not be receiving any cards of encouragement for the 30 days that she would be in there. So my friend asked me if I would send the young lady a letter of encouragement. 

At first I admit that I was a bit reluctant as I had never met the young lady. But, I felt a tugging on my heart and I agreed to do it. As I was thinking about what I should write to the young lady, I suddenly felt God’s tremendous love for her. I felt that He wanted me to tell her how much He truly loved her. He gave me some scriptures to share with her. I started crying because I could feel God’s heart for her and how valuable she was to Him. I then remembered that I had another bracelet that said God’s Treasure on it. I put it in the envelope and sent her the card. 

I am sure you may be wondering why I am sharing this with you today. Well I will tell you. God not only wants us to know that we are His treasure but He wants others to know as well. 

1 John 4:7 says, My loved ones, let us devote ourselves to loving one another. Love comes straight from God, and everyone who loves is born of God and truly knows God.

When we share the love of God with others, we are showing them who He is. You never know what someone may be going through. They could be going through a really rough time or may be they have never experienced what real love is. As you allow God to love them through you, they will begin to see a glimpse of who He is, how much He loves them and how valuable they are to Him. 

I would like to challenge you to ask God this week who He wants you to reach out to and show His love to. It will not only change that person’s life but it will also change yours!! 

