Tags

, ,

Pain who likes it? No one does and yet no one is exempt to it. There are many forms of pain. But, I wanted to talk about a particular side of pain. I would like to talk to you about emotional pain. This kind of pain is not the easiest type of pain to deal with. I think that it can be discounted and overlooked sometimes. You see, if you have a cold or the flu you will stay at home, rest, drink a lot of fluids and eventually you will feel better.

But emotional pain is quite different. It’s not like you can take an Advil and the pain will disappear in two hours. But, although you must deal with it differently, you will find that you need to treat emotional pain with as much care as you would physical pain.

Emotional pain is an indication that something within you has been wounded. If left alone, it will affect your life in a destructive way. It’s kind of like this, if you stifle your emotions whether it be through ignoring them by drowning yourself in busyness or in something that makes you feel better you may be okay for awhile.

But because you have held your emotions in for so long, they can be a lot like a volcano suddenly exploding and causing a lot of damage to you and others around you. Why? Because you haven’t taken care of your emotions properly.

I would like to share with you a story about someone who was experiencing a lot of emotional pain and how he dealt with it. His name is Jabez and you can find his story in the Bible.

In 1 Chronicles 4 it says, His mother had named him Jabez, saying, ‘I gave birth to him in pain.’ 

Here you see Jabez who was just born and instead of being welcomed into the world with love, he was greeted with rejection. He did nothing wrong and yet here he was being mistreated. Jabez spent most of his life battling the pain of rejection and the feeling of being unwanted.

It definitely looked very grim for Jabez. His destiny seemed to be heading on a downward spiral. But then Jabez did something that changed his life forever. 

In 1 Chronicles 4 it continues on and says this, Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, ‘Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.’ And God granted his request.

Jabez took all of the pain that he was inflicted with and he brought it to the one person who could help him. He brought it to the Lord. What’s so amazing about this story is that when he brought it to the Lord, God didn’t reject him and say this is just how your life is going to be. You are stuck with a life of pain.

No, the Lord listened to his request. “Oh that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let Your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.”

AND GOD GRANTED HIS REQUEST!!!! 

You may be experiencing emotional pain right now. Well, I have good news for you. There is a remedy and it is found in Jesus. You can bring Him all of your pain.

There’s a wonderful example of a man named David in the Bible. When talking about his relationship with God he wrote in Psalms 142 this, I spill out all my complaints before him, and spell out my troubles in detail:

He knew that God would not turn Him away but that as he brought his troubles before Him that He would deliver him. Why? Because that’s who God is. That is His character. Because David knew what God was like, he even goes the extra mile and says this to us in Psalms 62:5-8 My soul quietly waits for the True God alone because I hope only in Him. He alone is my rock and deliverance, my citadel high on a hillI will not be shaken.  My salvation and my significance depend ultimately on God; the core of my strength, my shelter, is in the True God.  Have faith in Him in all circumstances, dear people. Open up your heart to Him; the True God shelters us in His arms.

We can have faith that God can take our our pain caused by circumstances and He can turn it into something beautiful. 

Isaiah 61 says, I will take away the ashes on their head, and I will give them a crown. I will take away their sadness, and I will give them the oil of happiness. I will take away their sorrow…

In the Bible, it talks about how when someone was really grieved they would put ashes on their head to express that they were in pain. In Isaiah you see God sending His Son Jesus to free people from their sorrows and pain. The scripture in Isaiah is Jesus speaking saying what He wants to do for us. Another version of this verse says that He will give us beauty for ashes. He will turn our sorrows into joy.

All He requires of us is that we bring our pain to Him and believe that He will do what He says that He will do. 

Today I want to encourage you. If you have been experiencing a lot of emotional pain from circumstances beyond your control, go to God like David did. Pour out your complaint before Him. Take every trouble that you have and bring it before Him. Just like He listened to Jabez He will listen to you and He will not turn you away. 

Say to Him, Oh that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let Your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.” 

Know this, God will grant your request!! Your life will never be the same. Your destiny that may seem like it’s in a downward spiral will completely transform into a destiny that is beyond your wildest dreams!! Let God give you beauty for ashes!! Let Him turn your sorrows into joy!! Let Him free you from pain!!  

 

 

