Tags

, ,

reset_button2

I am a huge fan of playing Nintendo!! I especially love to play the game Zelda. I love the adventure, finding treasures, the sword fighting, defeating the enemy and saving the world. But I must admit, there is something that I really don’t like about playing Nintendo. And that is when I am playing the game and all of the sudden it freezes. I stop and I’m like WHAT?!? I sit there stunned hoping that it will go back to normal and then when it doesn’t I have to push the reset button so that it will be fixed and go back to normal.  

One time, I had been playing the game Zelda and I was near the end of the game and I had just defeated the last enemy. The only thing left to do was to walk in the room where Princess Zelda was and save her. As I went into the room where the princess was, I moved my game controller to go toward the princess. What I didn’t realize was that the princess was surrounded by fire and that you needed to shoot the fire with an arrow. The result was that I ran into the fire and being as I only had a half of a heart left in my video game life I died. UGH!!! Then because I hadn’t stopped and saved the game, I had to reset the game and I had to beat the last enemy all over again.  

This can be a lot like life. You wake up in the morning and you find that your brain is filled with all the cares, worries, fears, doubts and the struggles of yesterday and what the present day will bring. There are times when I have felt stuck. I couldn’t seem to shake these thoughts that have invaded my brain. I like to call it a brain freeze. When I realize that this is happening, I know that there is only one thing that I can do to stop it. I must hit the RESET button. This is the only way that my mind can be brought back to the original state that it should be in which is peace, joy, rest and love. 

You know it’s really easy in this world to fall into a rut of negativity. At times when I look around me, there can be such an underlying feeling of negativity that I can pick up on. What do I mean by that? When I happen to hear the news on the television, it seems that there is a lot of bad things are highlighted and not very many good things are highlighted. I hear negative phrases coming out of people’s mouths such as “my life sucks!” Or “Nothing good ever happens to me!”

Now, I am not trying to criticize anyone if they choose to live that way that is their choice. But I know in my heart of hearts, that I don’t want to live that way. If I do I become depressed and lethargic. I feel my life is purposeless and it makes me feel physically sick. I could go on and on about how it would be of no benefit to me but I know that God never meant for us to live in the realm of negativity. 

Romans 12:1-2 in the Message Bible says this, So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for Him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what He wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.

Romans 12:2 in the Living Bible says this,  Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but be a new and different person with a fresh newness in all you do and think. Then you will learn from your own experience how His ways will really satisfy you.

Isaiah 55 says, Say there! Is anyone thirsty? Come and drink—even if you have no money! Come, take your choice of wine and milk—it’s all free!  Why spend your money on food that doesn’t give you strength? Why pay for groceries that do you no good? Listen and I’ll tell you where to get good food that fattens up the soul! Come to me with your ears wide open. Listen, for the life of your soul is at stake. I am ready to make an everlasting covenant with you, to give you all the unfailing mercies and love that I had for King David. This plan of mine is not what you would work out, neither are my thoughts the same as yours! For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than yours, and my thoughts than yours.  As the rain and snow come down from heaven and stay upon the ground to water the earth, and cause the grain to grow and to produce seed for the farmer and bread for the hungry, so also is my word. I send it out, and it always produces fruit. It shall accomplish all I want it to and prosper everywhere I send it.  You will live in joy and peace. The mountains and hills, the trees of the field—all the world around you—will rejoice.  Where once were thorns, fir trees will grow; where briars grew, the myrtle trees will sprout up. This miracle will make the Lord’s name very great and be an everlasting sign of God’s power and love.

I love this scripture because, God makes such a great point. Why would you spend your money on food that doesn’t give you strength? 

I like to put it like this why would you want to invest, put your time and energy on things such as, negative thoughts that suck the life out of you? God says it so clear here in this specific scripture. His ways and His thoughts are higher than ours. His word ALWAYS produces fruit. In this passage, He is inviting us into a new way of living. His way of living. When we listen to His voice, follow His ways and think like He does the result will be that we will live in joy and peace. I love how it says, where once there were thorns, fir trees will grow; where  briars grew, the myrtle trees will sprout up. When you choose His way, everywhere you look where there was negativity will be new life and great fruit that will come. 

In order to renew your mind and think like God, you must know that it is a life long process. But, when you begin to see the results it is worth it. So, how do you start getting rid of negative thoughts? 

Philippians 4:8 From now on, brothers and sisters, if anything is excellent and if anything is admirable, focus your thoughts on these things: all that is true, all that is holy, all that is just, all that is pure, all that is lovely, and all that is worthy of praise.

Hebrews 3:1 So, my dear Christian friends, companions in following this call to the heights, take a good hard look at Jesus. He’s the centerpiece of everything we believe, faithful in everything God gave him to do.

Look to Jesus, think about His word and replace those negative thoughts with what He says about the situation that you are going through. If it is fear, then replace it with the scripture God has not given me a spirit of fear but of power, love and a sound mind. In the times where I have struggled with negative thoughts, I have found that it works best when I say the Word Of God out loud to myself. Why? Because faith comes by hearing and hearing by the word of God. Your ears hear what you say and when you say it and say it and say it again, it will begin to build faith on the inside of you and your mind will begin to think the way God does. 

This is how we Hit The Reset Button and begin to live the way God wants us to. As we do this, we can watch our lives fill up with His peace and His joy!

