I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what really matters to me. I have come to realize that in some ways it could be a little hard to live without out certain things. But, if I had to there are things that I could live without. Some things would be easier to live without than others. For me, if I could no longer drink coffee, I may at first have a huge headache but, as time goes on my headaches would eventually pass and I could live without it. 

There are some things that are harder to live without such as friendships. We have been designed for relationships. We all go through different seasons of life where friendships can come and go. At times, our paths meet with others and the journey with them can be sweet. Then, as life happens sometimes those people move away or end up going a different direction. 

I am the type of person that can be very sentimental. I can easily get attached to people. I have a tendency to see the treasure on the inside of them. I love encouraging them and seeing them fulfill all that God has for them. People have been in and out of my life often. I have had to say a lot of goodbyes. For me goodbyes are not very easy. I realize it’s a part of life but, I would prefer to say, “see you later.” (It seems somewhat easier that way.) 

Even though I still care about those people and still would love to hang out with them and know how they’re doing, it doesn’t always work out that way. I have come to the conclusion that if I had to I could live without those relationships regardless, of whether or not it was my choice . 

However, there is one relationship that I have become so involved with that if I were asked to give that relationship up I would say, absolutely not! This relationship has exceeded all relationships that I have had. In all of my life this person has never left me, has always been with me through thick and thin and has walked with me through the good, the bad and the ugly. Although I have been one who is prone to make mistakes, this person has never once made me feel like the scum of the earth. This person has only shown me love and encouraged me, especially when I felt bad about myself. This person makes me want to be a better person in every way. This person has laid down his whole life for me. This person is Jesus! 

The more I get to know Him; the more I want to be with Him. The one thing that I can’t live without is His Presence. This life on earth is not as easy as some people make it out to be. Pain is inevitable. People try to deal with it in so many ways. The most common ways are usually through drugs and alcohol. Some ways are more subtle. Such as, overeating, obsessions with buying things, drowning yourself in watching T.V., and shutting out life all around  you. There are so many things that people will use to try to fill the void that is within them. But, I have discovered that one moment in God’s Presence can change everything.

Have you ever felt dissatisfied? How about agitated? I have felt these emotions many times. I used to fluff it off and think “oh I just need to read a book, watch a good movie or listen to a good song. Then, I will feel better.” Although, at times those things will distract momentarily when the T.V. is turned off, when the movie is over the dissatisfaction would creep right back in.   

There is only one thing that will bring you calm in the midst of agitation, in the midst of dissatisfaction and that is the presence of Jesus. David a man after God’s own heart wrote this so beautifully in Psalms 27 it says this, ” I’m asking God for one thing, only one thing: to live with him in his house my whole life long. I’ll contemplate his beauty; I’ll study at his feet. That’s the only quiet, secure place in a noisy world, the perfect getaway, far from the buzz of traffic.”

He is the light that I need in this dark world. He is the bread (the provision) that fills and satisfies my hungry soul. He is the peace that calms my weary mind. He is the love that mends my broken heart. He is the breath of my life. 

Yes, it is true!!! I CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT HIM!!! Jesus Is My Vital Necessity!!!

Before I go, I would like to leave you with something that I wrote about Jesus as I had been discovering how truly amazing He is. I know that it will take my whole life to begin to know him and even after that I know that it wouldn’t even scratch the surface of fully knowing who He is. My prayer for you is that you would allow Him to be your true satisfaction and when you do, you will never be the same again.

Words can never encompass the facets of who He is. They barely scratch the surface of enlightening Him by far. He who knows time without boundaries. He who has no end. He’s captivating, invigorating! What more could be said. I can’t convey what I have seen and my attempts aren’t adequate. Because who He is, is so intricate, to know Him would take eternity. All things pale in comparison with my Lord, the one my heart loves!  

