Trust is such a small word and yet it is a word we all know well. Trust is something that we all have had ever since we were born. As a little child I had no problem trusting that my parents would feed me, buy me clothes and take me to where I needed to go. I didn’t have to worry about whether or not they would come through for me because, I trusted that they would. Life should always be that way shouldn’t it? Unfortunately, it isn’t always that way. Why? Well, it’s because we’re people. Sometimes, people forget the promises they’ve made, the things they have said that they would do and don’t.  They can get caught up in the busyness of life. 

Broken trust can be a painful thing. Once trust is broken we tend to build up walls within our hearts and vow to never let our hearts be vulnerable to anyone again.  The only issue with this is that you may eventually shut everyone out. Because, people no matter how wonderful they are, they will fail you and hurt you. People make mistakes. 

So what can you do if you know that people will fail you and hurt you? We must trust the one who has never failed us and will never hurt us. We must trust Jesus. In life, we will always encounter people. The question is how do we relate to them in a healthy way? God created relationships.

There have been so many times in my life that I have asked God to help me in the area of relating to people and He has been so faithful to help me. I have found that as I ask Him to help me in encouraging them, listening to them and conversing with them that He will step in and give me the words to say. 

What about the fear of getting hurt? That’s where trusting Jesus comes in. When we trust Him with our heart, He will be faithful to protect it. Do we use wisdom? Yes. But we can’t let fear keep us from stepping out and building a relationship that could turn into an amazing one. 

What about the area of hurting others? I can’t tell you how many times I have found that I have hurt people but I had done it unintentionally. If I find that I have hurt someone, I try to make it right by apologizing to them. Then, I pray that God will heal their hearts. I know that I cannot heal their hearts for them but I do know the one who created their heart and can make it whole again. 

Proverbs 3 says, Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track.

When we trust Jesus, He will lead us to the place that we need to be, show us what to say, how to act, how to live and how to show love to those around us. 

0efa04f01ecdaaa9f736d6cc97107aae

