Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be perfect? You do all the right things, say the words that you are supposed to just at the right moment. You are perfect in every way. Then, you come back to reality where you find that you say the wrong things at the wrong time. You hurt people’s feelings. You get angry and yell instead of calmly working something out while exhibiting peace, love and kindness. You get up in the morning and your hair is a mess. You try to fix it and your hair doesn’t want to do what you want it to do, it would rather stick up and be crazy. You easily get frustrated to no end when you should be one who is carefree and takes it all in stride every single time. 

This is what it means to be human. I must admit that if I could have my way and I could be perfect, I would most likely choose to be so in a heartbeat. Sigh! I know that I don’t have that privilege, at least not here on earth, in my own strength. There have been times when I have been disappointed in my imperfections. Wishing I would have said something different than what I had said. Regretting the attitude that I had that was just plain ugly or when I do something foolish. In those times, I stop and wonder if God would still want to use someone who messes up so much. I can remember a time when I was in my room and I had sat down at my keyboard and was singing to the Lord. I could feel His presence more and more. Suddenly, I started to feel afraid. I came face to face with the realization that I felt so dirty and I thought that God was coming to condemn me because of all the things that I had done wrong.  

Then, Jesus did something unexpected. I saw a picture of him in my mind and when I looked into His eyes, I expected to find anger, instead I found love. When I expected condemnation, He reached out his hand and lifted my face and with one look in His eyes I knew that He was not looking at me that way. I remember tears streaming down my face and being overwhelmed by His unconditional love. Even now, as I am typing this, tears are streaming down my face. Once you realize His love for you, you are never the same. Although, I have to be reminded of it often, every time I encounter His love, I am changed a little more. 

Ephesians 1 says, Even before he made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in his eyes.  God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure.  So we praise God for the glorious grace he has poured out on us who belong to his dear Son. He is so rich in kindness and grace that he purchased our freedom with the blood of his Son and forgave our sins.  He has showered his kindness on us, along with all wisdom and understanding.

We are without fault in His eyes. His blood has covered every fault that we have. Hard to believe? Yes, it can be, but it is the truth. He wants to take you and shine His perfection through you. He wants to shine His light, love, peace and joy through you to those around you who need it. 

God is not bothered by the fact that you have made mistakes and still make them. Why? He has covered them with His blood when He died for you. He remembers them no more. 

In 2 Corinthians 4 it says, “God commanded light to shine in the dark.” Now God is shining in our hearts to let you know that his glory is seen in Jesus Christ. We are like clay jars in which this treasure is stored. The real power comes from God and not from us.

Know this, Jesus loves you unconditionally. He does not condemn you for what you have done wrong and will not condemn you if you do something wrong in the future. Come to Him, let Him love you and wash away the feelings of shame, guilt and condemnation. Let His love and glory be seen through you. Let Him touch others through your life. Giving them Hope where they have none. Giving them Peace when all they have is turmoil. Let Him take your little clay jar and use you for His purpose. 

