I am the type of person that thinks a lot. In fact, when I am faced with a problem or question I have a tendency to think about it until I figure it out and come up with a solution. At times, I have thought to myself that I should have been an FBI agent or maybe a detective like Sherlock Holmes who solves the mysteries. Why? Because, I like to know the why behind the what. 

For example, if I watch a movie and it leaves me with an unresolved situation  I try to figure it out. For instance, I watched the movie Inception. This movie bugged me for a long time especially, the end of the movie. Was he (Cobb the main character) in a dream? Or was he in real life? If he was in a dream whose dream was it? His wife’s? His own dream? Then, I would try to come up with my own conclusion about it. 

Until recently, when I found an article that was an interview with the guy who wrote the movie. Every theory that I had for what I thought the answer was turned out to be wrong. 

If you happened to be one who would like to know what the answer really was I will gladly tell you. But, if you are one who has not seen this movie yet and plan to see it in the near future. You are welcome to skip this part of the blog. 

The whole point of the movie was not the fact of whether he was in a dream or not. The point of the movie was that Cobb (the main character) would do whatever it took just to be with his family. 

Now I know this example of me wanting figure out what the movie’s point was is really not a big deal. But, I want to take it a step further particularly in the area of life. In life, there are times when situations arise that can be quite baffling. It’s in these moments that your mind can revolve around a situation over and over until you find yourself completely worn out. You may not realize it, but you have begun to worry and anxiety has started to take over your thoughts and the peace that you once had has suddenly disappeared.  

The word worry means to give way to anxiety or unease; allow one’s mind to dwell on difficulty or troubles. 

The word anxiety means a feeling of worry, nervousness, or unease typically about an imminent event or something with an uncertain outcome. 

My mom told me that there was a time when our family was struggling financially. At that time, I was around 2 yrs. old. My mom said that one day when she was having a hard time I came into the room and was running around with a boot on my head laughing. I was so carefree that it cheered her up in a time where she could have allowed depression to overtake her. 

It has been said before that when we grow up we should put away childish things but, I think in the midst of putting away childish things that sometimes we put away the things that we should keep with us when we get older. 

There are so many wonderful characteristics that we have as a child such as:

1. Innocence

2. Contagious Laughter

3.Total Trust

4. Simplicity

5. Honesty

6. Being Carefree

One of the characteristics that we were given by God as a child  that I would like to point out is to be carefree. 

As we grow older, we are taught that we need to be independent and make sure that we are working out everything on our own. While it is good to be responsible, you will soon discover that worrying doesn’t change anything except your health. You also become miserable because you are so concerned about the issue at hand. God never intended for us to be miserable in life but he intended for us to enjoy life to the fullest.

He said in Matthew 6, “I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing?  Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?  “And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing,  yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you.

b9e1ef10173886b324462c08aa182ab0

Don't Worry Pray

Jesus loves children. Why? Because of their simplicity of heart, they are filled with laughter, they are enjoying every moment of life, they have complete trust in Him and they believe that what He says He will do, He Will Do! 

I have found that as I have grown up there are things that I have to unlearn. One of them is to let go of worry. I have been finding at times as I pray about the things that concern me, give them to God and continue to enjoy life the very thing I was concerned about either disappears or God works it out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

be6e431be81ea7450684cc67c21a441d

I think one of the things that we miss the most when we grow up is to just have fun. Believe it or not God wants us to have fun. I would like to encourage you, if you haven’t done this already, to start doing things that you enjoy. Whether it be going on a walk, reading a book, swimming, shopping or playing sports etc. Whatever it may be, take time to enjoy life and leave your worries with God. Go out and have some fun and watch as He perfects that which concerns you! 

81c2e5d425d8d0cfa99c4cdb9974cd79da745c255a0269eb6f25522db0b42c16

213349a8f83d6a950e1dd5ca5358e723 4379d555d3c3974c41cff08c4013a845 2194787571f2d517f1b18c439e883779 7605bcd91f3b5f34c596d0eb7c7e1f23

