Image

I would like to show you a picture. When you look at it see if there is anything you notice about it. 

Pale_Blue_Dot

Notice anything? No? It doesn’t look like much of anything does it? Okay, how about a closer look? 

bluedot

Looks just like a speck right? Well believe it or not that little dot right there is more than just a speck. It is no ordinary speck. In fact, this speck is where  you have lived your whole life. You are looking at planet earth. That’s right, the tiny little speck you see in this photo is where you and I live. 

This is a photograph of planet Earth taken in 1990 by the Voyager 1 spaceprobe from a record distance of about 6 billion kilometers (3.7 billion miles) from Earth, as part of the solar system Family Portrait series of images. The Voyager 1 spacecraft, which had completed its primary mission and was leaving the Solar System, was commanded by NASA to turn its camera around and to take a photograph of Earth across a great expanse of space.

Pretty amazing huh? There have been studies done on how big the universe is. So far no one has been able to find the end of it. You know when I saw that picture, I suddenly felt so small in such a vast universe.  It got me thinking about the One Who created it all. I have realized that I have put God in a very small box when He has no limitations. 

Isaiah 40 says, Who has measured the waters in the hollow of his hand or marked off the heavens with the span of his hand? Who has gathered the dust of the earth in a measure or weighed the mountains in a balance and the hills in the scales? Don’t you know, haven’t you heard or even been told from your earliest memories how the earth came to be?  Who else could have done it except God, enthroned high above the earth? From such a vantage people seem like grasshoppers to Him. Who else but God could stretch out the skies as if they were a curtain, draw them tight, suspend them over our heads like the roof of a tent? Look at the myriad of stars and constellations above you.
Who set them to burning, each in its place? Who knows those countless lights each by name? They obediently shine, each in its place, because God has the great strength and strong power to make it so.

I am sure all of us would agree that it’s easy to get caught up in the cares of this world that seems “So Big.” I found myself stopping in my tracks when I began to realize that here I am focused on problems, worrying, struggling with fears, doubts, and insecurities. Forgetting about the fact that I had invited the Creator Of The Universe into my life to have His way in me. The One who spoke it all into existence. Who marked off the heavens with the span of His hand.  Yet in all of His glory, majesty, power and might He wants to be in relationship with me, pour out His provision, give me His Love in place of my fears, peace instead of insecurity and make a way where there seems to be no way. He knows our every concern and wants to perfect that which concerns us. He wants to come in and do what we cannot do in our own strength.

Luke 12 says,  Yes, God even knows how many hairs you have on your head. 

Psalms 139 says, Every detail of my life was already written in Your book; You established the length of my life before I ever tasted the sweetness of it. Your thoughts and plans are treasures to me, O God! I cherish each and every one of them! How grand in scope! How many in number!  If I could count each one of them, they would be more than all the grains of sand on earth. Their number is inconceivable! Even when I wake up, I am still near to You.

Psalms 8 says, When I look up at your skies, at what your fingers made—the moon and the stars that you set firmly in place—what are human beings that you think about them; what are human beings that you pay attention to them?

It’s hard to wrap my brain around why the God Of The Universe wants to reach out in love towards us when He could do anything He wants. Yet He takes the time to write every detail about each of our individual lives in His book. His thoughts are consumed with each one of us. He knows the number of hairs on each person’s head. He watches over us every moment of our lives and protects us from harm.

I can’t help but be in awe of how amazing He is. What need do I have to worry about? Struggles? Fears? Doubts? Here He is the Creator of Heaven and Earth who wants to take care of me. He desires to take care of me and be in relationship with me, give me His life. He wants to exchange the nothingness that I have for everything that He has to give me. How can I not yield to Him? 

My prayer is that we would be constantly reminded of Who He is. That we would know how to rest in the One who created us and all that we see. 

Isaiah 40 says, God doesn’t come and go. God lasts. He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine. He doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch his breath. And he knows everything, inside and out. He energizes those who get tired, gives fresh strength to dropouts. For even young people tire and drop out, young folk in their prime stumble and fall. But those who wait upon God get fresh strength. They spread their wings and soar like eagles, they run and don’t get tired, they walk and don’t lag behind.

May we be ones who don’t try to do it in our own strength but let Him who has no limitations take care of us. May we remember that the cares that seem so big to us are not big to Him at all. We can trust Him!! He is faithful!! 

