Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

55e6b4016482ffc9ff270886a2469f55

46378963bc5355c20be9ba31e2537153

Fear n. – A distressing emotion aroused by impending danger, evil, pain,  whether the threat is real or imagined; the feeling or condition of being afraid. A specific instance of propensity for such a feeling; concern or anxiety; 

Have you ever turned the lights out at night in your room and then just when you are about to fall asleep you see something? You lay there and look at it trying to think of what it might be. Then you hear a noise. As you keep looking at the object you think, “did that just move? I am pretty sure that just moved!”

Your heart starts to beat faster, your breathing becomes shallow as you think, “There is something in my room!!!!” 

You pull your covers up higher and you don’t even want to reach out to the lamp that is only 2 inches away from you to turn the light on. Then, finally you get the courage to turn on the lamp and when you do you look at the object only to find that it was the piece of clothing that you hung on the door. You then have a good hearty laugh, feel a rush of relief and you are so thankful that it wasn’t someone out to get you. You come to realize that there was nothing to be afraid of. After that embarrassment, it suddenly sinks in and you promise yourself not to tell anyone what just happened.

How do I know this scenario so well? The person that was convinced there was something in their room was me. Fear has been something that I have dealt with on many occasions. Although, I think I can safely say that I am not the only one who has had a run in with fear now and then. 

I grew up as a pretty shy person. I was more of a one-on-one person. When I was with one person, it was easier for me to relax and talk. But when I would be with a group of people I didn’t like to speak up. I don’t like to be the center of attention. So, I really didn’t like answering questions about myself. In fact, I am still somewhat that way. I was not one to stand up in front of crowds. When I did stand, I had moments of freaking out and feelings of panic. Sometimes, it even ended with me leaving the stage in tears.

I remember in 8th grade; I had a piano recital. As I waited for my turn, I watched as each student went before me. I became more and more nervous. In fact, I got so freaked out that by the time it was my turn to speak into the microphone and share my name and what music piece I would be playing, I walked straight past the microphone because I felt I couldn’t even speak. I sat down at the piano started playing my piece and then I messed up. I started crying but finished the piece as quickly as I could and left mortified.

That is just one little example of my dealings with fear. There were times when I felt completely paralyzed by it. But, Thank God For Jesus!!!!! He has helped me so much. He has walked me through so many things. I remember a time when fear tried to overwhelm me and stop me from moving forward. Then, the Lord gave me a scripture.

It was Habakkuk 3:19, “The Lord God is my Strength, my personal bravery, and my invincible army; He makes my feet like hinds’ feet and will make me to walk [not to stand still in terror, but to walk]and make [spiritual] progress upon my high places [of trouble, suffering, or responsibility]!”

This has been one of my life scriptures that I have held on to. It brings me such comfort knowing that I am not alone and that God is my personal bravery, and my invincible army. He is the one who walks me through the times when fear tries to rear its ugly head and defeat me. It has been a process but each day the Lord helps me to be stronger and stronger. Do I still deal with fear? Yes, I deal with it when I talk to people and at times when I go to different places. I especially deal with it when I lead worship at church. 

There are still times when fear attacks so strongly that I feel like I can’t breathe. I usually pray at that time and say God if I have to be in front of these people then I ask that you would use my words, my actions and that you would touch them in a personal way. He then steps in with His tremendous peace and gives me the strength that I need in the midst of my weakness. 

Recently, God showed me something. He has been teaching me about what to do when fear comes. He gave me the scripture 1 John 4:18-19 it says, No fear exists where his love is. Rather, perfect love gets rid of fear, because fear involves punishment. The person who lives in fear doesn’t have perfect love. We love because God loved us first.

God makes it so clear that He Is Love and when we focus on Him and allow the person of Love to come in and pour Himself (Love) into us, fear will have no place in us.  It is not anything that we have to work out on our own but as we let Him love us, we will be able to conquer the fear that tries to drag us down and defeat us. 

I have been finding that as I look to Him and put my focus on Him the thing that I was afraid of disappears. It’s truly the coolest thing ever!!! Then, His love, His peace, His boldness, washes over me and I feel so free to be who He has truly called me to be. There is no greater way to live! If you are one who deals with fear, I want to encourage you to allow Love Himself to come in and pour Himself into you. As you do, fear will have no choice but to leave!

2 Timothy 1:7 says, For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.

You don’t have to live in fear anymore!

Receive His Love!!!! 

