Tags

, , , , ,

It all started when I was going on a two day trip with my sister Abi to Disneyland. I was really excited. One of my favorite things about Disneyland is they have this Star Wars Jedi Training Academy show for the kids. In the show, they pick some kids and have them wear Jedi robes and train them on how to fight with lightsabers. After that Darth Vader, Darth Maul, and the Storm Troopers come out and the kids fight with them and defeat them. Way Cool!!! Right!?!

Well, ever since I was a little girl I loved Star Wars. I thought it would be fun to get a picture with a Storm Trooper. I was pretty sure that they were inaccessible though because they spent most of their time on stage and would rarely come out into the crowd. Earlier that day as Abi and I were praying together before I realized it, the words that came out of my mouth were “Lord I would like to get a picture with a Storm Trooper.” I immediately felt embarrassed because I said it out loud in front of Abi and I thought that it was a silly request. But Abi said, “Why Not? It’s okay to ask.” So I left it at that. 

Later that day, Abi and I had just gotten off the ride Space Mountain and we were trying to decide what to do next. All of the sudden Abi said to me, “Shelly there’s a Storm Trooper.” Sure enough, he was standing there just a few steps away. All of the sudden I felt like a little girl. I got So Excited. I can’t even believe that I did this. I started tiptoeing over to where he was. (Keep in mind this is out of the ordinary for me.) Then, I said can I take a picture with you? He let me take a picture with him. IT MADE MY DAY!!!!!!! Here’s the picture:

542223_10151775980838818_1210266997_n

I was so surprised that God had answered my prayer but I was so thankful to Him for it. 

A few months went by and my family and I had taken some days off for a vacation in Maui. While we were there, I had been talking to God about some things I had been discouraged about and blurted out, “God I would like to see a rainbow while we’re here.” Later that day, I was with my sister Abi in our hotel room and I looked out the sliding glass door and I saw the tiniest little hint of what looked a rainbow. I said to Abi, “There’s My Rainbow!!” I went outside. I tried to take a picture of it but it would not show up very well on my phone. So I said, “God it would be cool if the rainbow was brighter so that I can take a picture of it with my phone.” Then the rainbow started to get brighter. After that it turned into a full blown rainbow. Followed by what looked like an almost complete double rainbow. I was blown away. I said, Thanks God!! Here’s a glimpse of what it looked like. 

1379477_10151919104993818_205263988_n

The next day I was still So Excited about the rainbow. I thought, I want to test this out. I love sea turtles. They are my favorite animal. So this time I said to God, “God I would like to see a turtle while we’re here.”  Throughout that day I added to my request saying to God “you know what would be cool is if I was swimming in the water and the turtle was in the water too and we were kind of swimming together. What a cool Facebook status that would be. (of course, Facebook has to know these things right? Haha!) We went to the beach that day and I was ready. I was keeping an eye out for my turtle. I walked the beach but didn’t see anything. When I came back my Brother-In-Law’s mom said, “Shelly, you are not going to believe what just happened to me. I was out snorkeling and as I was swimming I felt something behind me and thought it was my husband and when I turned to look and it was a turtle. I screamed and then swam away.”

After she said that I thought, “Oh man, I missed my turtle.” I was a little disappointed. Then later my dad said to me, “Hey Shelly, there was a turtle spotted over in that area.” So we ended up snorkeling out there to see if we could find it. All of the sudden there he was. He Was HUGE!!!! He was just floating there. I just floated in the water watching him. It Was The Coolest Thing Ever!!!!!!!!!! IT MADE MY DAY!!! Again I was amazed at what God did. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to take a picture as I didn’t have a underwater camera with me. But here’s one that looked like what I saw, except the turtle was bigger and closer to me. 

images-1

So you may be wondering why I am sharing all of this with you? It’s because I want you to know that I am God’s favorite. Just Kidding!!! The truth is God is no respecter of persons. (Acts 10:34) He doesn’t favor one person more than another. And although my requests of Him may have been considered “silly” He still knew that it was something that I would enjoy. He wanted to bless me. He wants us to ask Him no matter how small or silly the request may be. He cares about even the smallest details of our lives. So, feel free to ask Him and see what happens!!! He may just surprise you!! 

