It seemed it was a day like any other ordinary day. I went to work, and then on to a hair appointment. I went inside the hair salon and sat in the chair and my hairdresser started conversing with me. I happened to be sitting in front of a large mirror that was hanging by wires from the ceiling. I needed to adjust the position that I was sitting in and as I moved my foot hit the edge of the mirror. I watched as the mirror began to sway. I assumed that it would stop soon, but after a couple of minutes it continued to sway. I thought to myself, “I didn’t kick the mirror that hard.” My hairdresser stopped in mid-conversation and put her hand on my shoulder and said, “Wait.” I waited. When I then heard her shout, “It’s an earthquake!!! RUN!!!!” It took me a second to realize what she said, and when I turned around to look at her I saw that she was running out the door and into the street. I thought, “Oh” and then went outside. We were standing in the middle of the street while the earth was continuing to quake. All of the sudden this lady ran out to us from a building that she was in. She ran up to me and was frantically speaking to me in another language. I just looked at her and smiled while thinking, “I have no clue what you’re saying lady.” As I stood there I prayed underneath my breath and felt such a tremendous peace. The earthquake stopped and we all went back inside and my hairdresser finished cutting my hair. I must admit that I was very glad that I didn’t lose chunks of my hair that were not meant to be lost due to the quaking of the earth. 

Later, when my hairdresser reflected on the whole situation she couldn’t understand why I was so peaceful. I knew that the only reason why I was able to be at peace during that whole situation was because of God. I knew that He was with me. He would take care of me. I have discovered that the more you get to know who God is, the more you will find your fears disappearing. Sometimes, it takes a moment to let the overwhelming waves of wrong emotions that rise up inside of us to subside. But the more you look at Jesus the more His peace, love, and joy, will overtake you. You will find yourself stopping to trust in Him when at first you were afraid of what the outcome would be.

Psalms 46 says, God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. He says, ‘Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.’ The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress.

When circumstances are difficult it is normal for our natural response to be unnerved, shaken, in turmoil, and in a frenzy. But as you let your heart be still  and you recognize Him as God by surrendering your life, emotions, and heart to Him you will find His insurmountable peace filling you during the most difficult situations.  

 

