Tags

, ,

Though he slay me yet, I will trust Him. – Job 13

I must admit this verse has been known to be of my least favorite verses in the Bible. The thought of suffering to the point of dying is not really on the top of my list of what I want to do in life. And ultimately I don’t believe that suffering is on the top of anyone’s list. Could you actually picture this in a conversation?

So…”what would you like to do in life?”  “Oh you know I would just like to suffer.” Hmmm….Yeah, I don’t know think so.

If I am going to make a commitment to something that will take hard work and patience I would like to know that in the end it will be worth it. I want something amazing came out of my hard work. However, it doesn’t always work out that way. I have had times when I have poured out my heart and soul into something and the result hasn’t been the best. At least that is what I have thought. 

After I have gone through seasons like this I’ve found myself in a place of questioning the Lord to find out what happened. I knew  that I had done all the right things like being faithful to pray, and being obedient to what God had asked me to do. But still everything seemed as if it was falling apart. I felt like I had failed and that my hope was long gone.  

Then God brought this scripture to my attention. Though he slay me yet I will trust Him. I admit that at the time I was not really happy that He decided to bring this verse to my attention. I didn’t necessarily feel encouraged by the word slay, which literally means to kill violently. I was like “Oh Great!! You are going to slay me now.  Um..Excuse me Lord but that was not exactly what I was looking to hear from you.” Then He showed me what the verse really meant. 

In the story of Job you see that Job did everything right. He always made sure that his children were right with God by giving sacrifices on their behalf just in case they may have sinned. And then you see Satan come into the picture asking God if he could smite Job. Because Satan believed that Job would blaspheme God and turn away from Him if he was afflicted. God agreed to let Satan smite him, but unbeknownst to Job it was because God had a bigger plan in mind. God was after something in Job. 

Although Job always did what was right, in his perspective, what was happening to him was wrong. The Lord wanted to change Job’s wrong perspective to the right one. 

Here was where Job’s perspective was wrong. Job 3:25 says, “What I was afraid of has come upon me. What filled me with fear has happened. I am not at rest, and I am not quiet. I have no rest, but only trouble.”

One of the things that God wanted Job to get rid of was fear. He was putting his faith in the wrong thing. Believing for the worst instead of believing that God could take care of him. God wanted Job to trust Him. After Job realized that God was after something in his life he said this, in chapter 23. “But he knows the way that I take; when he has tested me, I shall come forth as gold. My feet have closely followed his steps; I have kept to his way without turning aside.  I have not departed from the commands of his lips; I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my daily bread.”

Once Job yielded to the Lord. God was able to remove the fear and show him a new way of thinking. And give him a double portion of everything that Satan had taken away from him. 

I realized that I may not see the end from the beginning. And even at times it looks like I am being led to the slaughter. But God sees the bigger picture and there’s something that God wants to change in me. Not so I can suffer but so that He can give me a double portion of the blessings that He has for me.  As I put my trust in Him He will lead me into a life of victory. 

