Tags

I never realized the importance of words until I discovered they’re power and effect on my life. It’s funny how at times I would think words were just a mere way of communicating. But what I didn’t know was that if you let words effect what you believe about yourself long enough that is very well what you become. The Bible says “as a man thinks in his heart so is he.” There have been times when I have allowed people’s opinions and what they think of me to turn into what I thought about myself. I have thought “if they say this about me then it must be true.” I would let them dictate to me who I am, how I should act, and what I can and cannot do. I would even let them dictate to me what I am worthy of having. But over time God has really taught me and is still teaching me that how I think about myself needs to be based on what He says about me.

I have been reading this book by Christa Black. In her book she talks about the power of words. She tells this story about a Scientist  ”who made a discovery while taking high-powered photos of the molecular content of water in different settings. He would photograph the way the water reacted when exposed to certain environmental conditions. Such as pollution, music, words, and sounds. When the words ‘you make me sick’, or ‘I will kill you’ were spoken into water or typed out and taped on the side of a glass of water, the molecules became disgusting–sharp, harsh, jagged figures. On the other side of the spectrum, every time the words ‘love and appreciation’ were released into the water, the molecules turned into beautiful crystalline shapes that graced the water.”

Here are some photos of what the water looked like after different words were spoken into it.

facts_bild4    

Genesis 1:1-3 says,  “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was formless and empty, and darkness covered the deep waters. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the surface of the waters. Then God said, ‘Let there be light,’ and there was light.” 

God spoke to the water and told it what to become. We too have the same power in our mouths. 

Our bodies are made up of 70% of water. What is said to us and what we say about ourselves can have an affect on us. How we think and speak about ourselves can affect us physically, emotionally, mentally, and yes even make us sick sometimes. 

Christa Black says in her book, “If your ‘truths’ are leading to death in any way, shape, form, or fashion then more than likely they’re not the truth. By death, I mean they produce things like insecurity, depression, self-hatred, fear, worry, or any other negative result. These terrible words might appear to be true, but they’re not the truth of destiny over your life. Sometimes there is a difference between what is true and what is truth. If your “truths” are leading to life (such as security, freedom, hope, joy, and love), then they’re yours to take hold of and walk into. If what is true is leading to death then change it.

The Bible says, ‘It is not just bread that keeps people alive. Their lives depend on what God says.’-Matthew 4:4

So how do we change our way of thinking if it is negative?

Romans 10:17 says, So faith comes by hearing [what is told], and what is heard comes by the preaching [of the message that came from the lips] of Christ (the Messiah Himself). Begin by speaking what God says about you. Such as “I have the mind of Christ” or “I am a new creation in Christ, the old things have passed away, all things have become new”(2 Cor. 5:17). Ask Him what He thinks about you. Let Him speak to you and show you. 

As you stop speaking negative things over your life and you speak the opposite instead you will see a definite change in your life. 

 

